79 Undergrads Recognized at Annual Honors & Awards Celebration

Each year the A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland celebrates exceptional undergraduate scholars through its Honors and Awards, which recognize students for their academics, leadership, and service.

Maryland Engineering honored 79 undergraduates who exemplify the college’s commitment to excellence at this year’s ceremony event, held April 29 in the Stamp Student Union. Five were recognized with Dean’s Awards.

“I am confident that tonight's honorees will lead humanity to a more inclusive, equitable, and prosperous future,” said Clark School Dean Samuel Graham, Jr. at the event Monday evening. “In health care, quantum technology, energy, robotics and more, when society faces a seemingly insurmountable challenge, it turns to engineers. When it does, I am glad that Maryland engineers will answer society’s call.”

Annushka AlievA. James Clark School of Engineering Dean's Award: presented for excellence in academics, leadership, and service to the college.

Annushka Aliev
Senior, civil engineering

Annushka is a 4.0 student in the University Honors, Engineering Honors, and QUEST Honors programs, and works as a teaching assistant for QUEST's introductory course. She is heavily involved in Engineers Without Borders, in which she was president, media/technology chair, and a water systems subteam lead, and has traveled to Uganda with them twice. Annushka has also worked with UMD's Center for Disaster Resilience on projects focusing on environmental justice and sea-level rise. After graduation, Annushka will work with Hazen & Sawyer.

Ryan MahonA. James Clark School of Engineering Leadership Award: presented to a Clark School student who demonstrates outstanding leadership which impacts all engineering majors.

Ryan Mahon
Senior, mechanical engineering

Ryan is the engineering school representative on the Undergraduate Provost Advisory Committee, the vice president of Pi Tau Sigma, a ClarkLEAD storyteller, Clark Opportunity Transfer Scholar, and led two balloon payloads which collected gravity wave data during the total eclipse. He is currently researching mechatronics and controls of lunar rovers in the Space Systems Lab where he is also training to become a certified scientific diver. After graduation, Ryan will begin graduate school in UMD’s aerospace engineering department.

Hannah LeeA. James Clark School of Engineering Global Leadership Award: presented for leadership and service through global engineering activities.

Hannah Lee
Senior, bioengineering with a minor in sustainability studies

Hannah is an alumna of the Women in Engineering Flexus Living and Learning Program and QUEST Honors Program. She currently serves as the director of corporate relations for the Society of Women Engineers and has previously served as secretary. She has been active within Clark Ambassadors, Maryland Images, Alpha Omega Epsilon, and the Women in Engineering Sheila Rohra WIE Connect Peer Mentoring Program. After graduation, she will begin her career in Dallas, TX working with biodiagnostics systems at Abbott.

Ijeoma AsonyeKim Borsavage and Pamela J. Stone Student Award for Outstanding Service: presented for outstanding service and dedication to the Clark School.

Marisol Hernandez
Senior, civil engineering

Marisol has held several leadership positions including mentor coordinator for the Women in Engineering Peer Mentor Program, SHPEtinas chair of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, and president of Vintage Voices. Marisol is also involved in Alpha Omega Epsilon, the American Society of Civil Engineers, and is a proud alumna of Flexus. Following graduation, she will start her career as a structural engineer at Whitman, Requardt & Associates in Baltimore, Maryland.

Owen MankDinah Berman Memorial Award: presented to a third-year engineering student who has combined academic and scholastic excellence with demonstrated leadership or service to the Clark School.

Owen Mank
Junior, electrical engineering

Owen is a member of the Gemstone Honors Program, Flexus and Virtus, Banneker Key, and is in the leadership of the University's IEEE student branch. In Gemstone, he leads the electrical design of Team SCOOT's intelligent knee scooter and acts as a peer mentor. In the Flexus and Virtus program, Owen serves as a facilitator and educator for the program’s final class. In IEEE, he has been designing a relaxing lounge for students to study in and a process for students to access IEEE’s technical equipment for personal and academic use.

Congratulations to all of our 2024 honorees!

Annushka Aliev
Nadeen Alomar
Friedrich Alvarez
Gabriel Assan
Lucas Baldwin
Maguire Ballard
Jennifer Beaton
Kruti Bhingradiya
Ethan Bolinger
Mekhi Boulware
Dillon Capalongo
Angelo Capati
Peter Capozzoli
Justin Cargiulo
Maggie Chen
Riordan Correll-Brown
William Covington
Lane Crofton
Lincoln Doney
Rohan Doshi
Lynn Ekwonye
Matthew Ensign
Avital Fink
Robert Fink IV
Jack Fitzgibbon
Scott Fleischmann
Lucas Frankle
Kevin Franzblau
Udit Gupta
Vikramdeep Hanspal
Autumn Hengen
Marisol Hernandez
Richard Huang
Joshua Ikegwu
Caroline Kahl
Akshay Kandakumar
Jacob Kaplan-Davis
Ezana Kebede
Ryan Kim
David Kirkpatrick
Steven Kuo
Vincent Lan
Gustavo Lang
Benjamin Leazer
Hannah Lee
Ivan Lin
Ryan Mahon
Michael Mallamaci
Owen Mank
Nathan Martin
Miguel Martinez
Nicholas Mertz
Urjoshi Nahid
Chelsea Neumann
Christopher Nwoke
Christine Ogunsola
Charlotte Ondatje
Michael Orlosky
Elizabeth Quinn
Sierra Raspa
Lawrence Rhoads
Joshua Rippeon
Amber Robertson
Nathan Roy
Owen Schweitzer
Summer Slocum
Wilhelm Smith
Lillian Spych
Aidan Stark
Warren Stewart
Elijah Taeckens
Yimang (George) Tang
Alexandra Terres
Smriti Thomas
Meena Toolaabee
Stephanie Tsitsiwu
Nicole Uhl
Visesh Uppoor
Nicholas Venginickal
Samaa Zaman

2024 Honors & Awards

Published April 30, 2024