The Distinguished Alumni Award honors those alumni of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering who have made a contribution to the mission and ideals of the Department. Candidates should have accomplished one or more of the following:

Kenneth E. Isman with students

  • Contributed truly exceptional service to their community, the Department of Fire Protection Engineering, the profession, and/or the public, or;
  • Enhanced the student experience, research scholarship, academic excellence, technology commercialization, national and international reputation, and impact of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering, or;
  • Made significant accomplishments in the theory and practice of fire protection engineering, or;
  • Managed or directed an organization that has made noteworthy national or international contributions in design, construction, production, or service delivery through the application of complex fire protection engineering principles.

The deadline for nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Award is January 15 each year; award will typically be announced at the Alumni Dinner in association with the NFPA conference in the spring.

For questions related to these awards, please contact the UMD FPE Board of Visitor Nomination Chair, Chris Dubay

To nominate an alumnus, please follow this link to download a nomination form (PDF).

Distinguished Alumni Recipients

Raj Arora, B.S. '00
Erica D. Kuligowski, B.S. '01, M.S. '03
Mark Henry Salley, B.S. '87, M.S. '00

Jack Medovich, B.S., 1983
Jack Watts, B.S., 1966

Daniel L. Arnold, B.S., 1980
Roland J. Huggins, B.S., 1985
Eric Rosenbaum, B.S., 1985; M.S. 1997
Stacy N. Welch, B.S. 1997

Gregory Jakubowski, B.S. 1985
John W. McCormick, B.S. 1968
Joseph A. Simone, B.S. 1984

Lydia A. Butterworth, B.S. 1983
Samuel S. Dannaway, B.S. 1978, M.S. 2008
Christian Dubay, B.S. 1995
Casey C. Grant, B.S. 1981
Robert J., Libby, B.S. 1982
John G. O’Neill, B.S. 1969
Orville M. Slye, Jr., B.S. 1962

Craig L. Beyler, B.S. 1976
Edward K. Budnick, B.S. 1970
Arthur E. Cote, B.S. 1965
Philip J. DiNenno, B.S. 1977
Robert M. Gagnon, B.S. 1990, M.S. 1995
David J. Icove, B.S. 1975
Kenneth E. Isman, B.S. 1986
Chris Jelenewicz, B.S. 1987
Bill Koffell, B.S. 1979
James A. Milke, B.S., 1976
Jack Poole, B.S., 1986