Tau Beta Pi

Outstanding students in the program are eligible to join Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society.


Society of Fire Protection Engineers

The University of Maryland Student Chapter of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers is one of two student chapters currently organized within the society. The objective of the organization is to "promote the art and science of Fire Protection Engineering and its allied fields, to maintain a high academic and ethical standing among its members, and to foster Fire Protection Engineering education." The Chapter strives to achieve these goals by sponsoring a variety of activities, including field trips to unique facilities, lectures by guest speakers on topics of relevant or special interest, and a number of social functions.

A monthly business meeting is held to keep members aware of current topics concerning the Chapter and the overall Society. Occasional activities are planned to bring students together to exchange ideas. The Chapter constantly strives to promote the Department of Fire Protection Engineering via communication with Society headquarters, representation at the monthly meetings of the local Chesapeake Chapter of SFPE, and establishment of displays at conferences.



The Fire Protection Engineering Honorary Society, national in scope, was founded in 1922 at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Dedicated to the promotion and recognition of scholarship, the promotion of original investigation, and the objectives of fraternal association within the profession, the Beta Chapter was initiated at UMD in 1967.

The Salamander Honorary Society provides for three classes of membership: active, alumni and honorary members. Active members are inducted into the group by invitation only based on their service to the Department and academic achievement. These members automatically obtain alumni membership upon graduation. Honorary membership is bestowed on individuals who have distinguished themselves in the discipline of Fire Protection Engineering.