The Curriculum Advisory Committee (CAC) of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering was formed in 1999, with the stated goals as follows:

"The overall goal of this committee is to provide authoritative focus to ensure that the knowledge and skills taught in the FPE curricula meet the present and future expectations of employees and students alike.  The objectives include establishing a uniform and focused method to track recommendations, assessments of existing and proposed curriculum changes, recommendations of new courses and their content, and ensuring top-notch academic standards.”

CAC Chair

  • Daniel Gorham, P.E, UL Research Institutes, Fire Safety Research Institute

Active Members

  • Mark Aaby, P.E, WSP, USA
  • Alyson J. Blair, P.E, Holmes Fire
  • Jonathan Butta, P.E, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Fire Research Laboratory
  • Julie Dicus, P.E, Coffman Engineers
  • Kenneth Hamburger, P.E, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • William E. Koffel, P.E, Koffel Associates, Inc.
  • Carli Luecke, P.E, Marriott International
  • Thomas Platt, P.E
  • Andrew 'Drew' Poole, P.E, Poole Fire Protection, Inc. 
  • Andrew Roberts, P.E, University of Maryland Baltimore Fire Marshal
  • Eric R. Schmidt, P.E, Member-At-Large
  • Alex L. Szachnowicz, P.E, Anne Arundel County Board of Education
  • Glynix Thompason, P.E, Society of Fire Protection Engineers
  • Jennifer Zaworski, P.E, Jensen Hughes

Liaisons, Alternates, and Industry Representatives

  • Brian S. Grove, (alternate to Jonathan Butta), Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Fire Research Laboratory
  • Alwin Kelly, P.E, (alternate to Jennifer M. Zaworski), Jensen Hughes
  • Renato R. Molina, P.E, (alternate to Julie Dicus), Coffman Engineers
  • David Moore, P.E, (alternate to Catherine Hamel) AcuTech
  • Jack Poole, P.E, (alternate to Andrew Poole),  Poole Fire Protection, Inc.
  • Brian Salyers, P.E, Coffman Engineers
  • Stacy N. Welch, P.E, (alternate to Carli Luecke) Marriott International, Inc.

Faculty Representatives

  • Paul Anderson, Lecturer 
  • Chris Campbell, P.E, Adjunct Lecturer
  • Thomas DeBold, P.E, Adjunct Lecturer
  • Catherine Hamel, Keystone Instructor, Adjunct Lecturer
  • Kenneth Isman, P.E, Clinical Professor
  • Isaac Leventon, PhD, Adjunct Lecturer
  • James A. Milke, Ph.D, P.E, Professor Emeritus
  • Shuna Ni, Ph.D, Professor
  • Fernando Raffan-Montoya, Ph.D, Professor
  • Noah L. Ryder, P.E, Adjunct Lecturer
  • Stanislav I. Stoliarov, Ph.D, Professor
  • Peter B. Sunderland, Ph.D, Professor
  • Arnaud Trouvé, Ph.D, Chair 
  • Rosalie Wills, P.E, Adjunct Lecturer

Emeritus Members

  • David M. Banwarth, P.E, David M. Banwarth Associates, LLC (DBMA)
  • Matthew I. Chibbaro, P.E, National Institutes of Health
  • David J. Icove, Ph.D, P.E, University of Tennessee, Dept of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Chris Jelenewicz, P.E, Society of Fire Protection Engineers
  • Amy J. Murdock, P.E. Code Consultants, Inc.
  • Mark Henry Salley, P.E, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Brian Salyers, P.E, Coffman Engineers
  • Joseph A. Simone, P.E, Naval Facilities Engineering Command
  • Steven M. Spivak, Ph.D, Professor Emeritus

Department Staff

  • Nicole Hollywood, Associate Director for Undergraduate and Graduate Programs
  • Christine O'Brien, Program Administrative Specialist