FPE News Story

NFPA awards scholarships to four fire safety students

NFPA awards scholarships to four fire safety students

July 8, 2010 – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee has awarded scholarships to four exceptional fire safety students based on their contributions to fire safety activities, academic achievements, and leadership abilities. The scholarships are awarded each year to recognize students for their pursuit of careers in fire safety.

David Yates, the recipient of the Arthur E. Cote Scholarship, is a junior at the University of Maryland. He is pursuing a combined bachelor’s and master’s degree in fire protection and nuclear engineering. Yates hopes to continue on to postgraduate studies in nuclear engineering. He is also a member of the Salamander Fire Protection Honor Society at the University. This scholarship was established in 2006 in honor of Cote’s retirement from the NFPA and is awarded to recognize and offer support for undergraduate students pursuing careers in fire protection engineering.

Bryant Hendrickson, a senior in the Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland (UMD), is the recipient of the John L. Jablonsky Scholarship. Hendrickson is working towards his master’s degree in fire protection engineering in the combined BS/MS program. He is a member of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE) and served as treasurer for UMD’s chapter. Hendrickson plans to become a professional engineer. This scholarship is named in honor of the late John L. Jablonsky, former chair of the NFPA Standards Council and his valuable contribution to the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control and to several NFPA committees. The scholarship is intended to aid those with similar convictions to develop careers of service to mankind.

Clayton James is the recipient of the George D. Miller Scholarship. James is currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree in fire science at the University of Cincinnati. He is the platoon commander and training officer for the Newport Fire Department in Newport, Kentucky and has worked in the fire service industry for 19 years. His career began in the United States Air Force as a fire protection specialist, where he received the Air Force Achievement Medal for his work as a firefighter. James plans to pursue his interest in teaching and public safety fire investigation. The George D. Miller Scholarship was established in honor of the former NFPA president and CEO and is awarded to students in fire service or public administration programs.

Jamie Stern-Gottfried, one of 32 PhD students at the University of Edinburgh, is the recipient of the David B. Gratz Scholarship. He received his master’s in fire protection engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute in 2004 and has worked for Arup Fire in London since then. His current PhD research involves developing a methodology for determining design fires for structural analysis. Stern-Gottfried plans to become a technical leader with Arup Fire. This scholarship is named for David B. Gratz, the NFPA’s first executive director for international operations, a position he held for 22 years. The scholarship is awarded to recognize the growth of fire science and fire engineering programs.

NFPA has been a worldwide leader in providing fire, electrical, building, and life safety to the public since 1896. The mission of the international nonprofit organization is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education. Visit NFPA’s Web site at www.nfpa.org or contact Chris Ellis for further information.

Contact: Lorraine Carli, Public Affairs Office: +1 617 984-7275

September 23, 2010

Prev   Next