John L. Bryan Chair

The John L. Bryan Chair - currently held by Professor Jose Torero - was established in 1994 to support research and teaching programs within the department.  Dr. John L. Bryan served as Professor and Founding Chair of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering beginning with the establishment of the Department in 1956 until his retirement from the University of Maryland in 1993.

The faculty member selected to be the Bryan Chair should be a distinguished individual who is of the highest professional and academic caliber, dedicated to serving and advancing fire protection engineering.  Support for the endowed chair was received from the fire protection industry and a substantial proportion of department alumni.  In addition to the endowment for the chair, two Regents Fellowships associated with the Bryan Chair were also endowed with support from Cerberus Technologies, Inc., and the Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance Co.

Those holding the position of the John L. Bryan Chair in Fire Protection Engineering include:

Dr. James G. Quintiere, 1999 - 2013
Dr. Jose L. Torero, 2017 - Present